Review: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

A searing and profound Southern odyssey by National Book Award–winner Jesmyn Ward. In Jesmyn Ward’s first novel since her National Book Award-winning Salvage the Bones, this singular American writer brings the archetypal road novel into rural twenty-first-century America. Drawing on Morrison and Faulkner, The Odyssey and the Old Testament, Ward gives us an epochal story, a journey through … More Review: Sing, Unburied, Sing by Jesmyn Ward

Review: The Silver Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

Mysterious doors with lizard-head knobs. Talking stone statues. A crazy girl with a hatchet. Yes, Liv’s dreams have been pretty weird lately. Especially the one where she’s in a graveyard at night, watching four boys conduct dark magic rituals. The strangest part is that Liv recognizes the boys in her dream. They’re classmates from her … More Review: The Silver Trilogy by Kerstin Gier

Review: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

A British girl uncovers the mystery of her mother’s death — and discovers powers she never knew she possessed — in this engrossing, imaginative Victorian-era novel by Libba Bray. Two months after her mother’s sudden and puzzling suicide, Gemma Doyle travels from India, where she was raised, to England for her new life at an … More Review: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray

Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike

The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann’s Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This supernatural young adult novel is perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noël, Richelle Mead, and Kimberly Derting. Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. … More Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike