Review: #Nerd by Cambria Hebert

23493256

Synopsis

Two people from completely different worlds are about to be thrown together…

In more ways than one.

She wants to keep her scholarship. He wants to stay on the team. An awkward alliance doesn’t even begin to cover Rimmel and Romeo’s relationship.

But that’s about to change.

It starts with a dare. An initiation. A challenge.

Quickly, it turns into more. But when you’re a victim of your status, there is no room for anything real. The rules are clear and simple.

Stick to your circle.

And never fall in love with anyone on the outside.

Review

#Nerd was one more biggest pile of crap I’ve read in the past. Wait.. Let me get my thoughts to a coherent state before I begin.

tumblr_n4h5iagvow1smcbm7o1_500

Quote3

I think I got that right. Is it just me, or does that last sentence actually not make any sense?! I apologize if it makes sense to others, but it just doesn’t to me. That sentence is an example how the book as a whole is – It doesn’t  make sense.

First of all, the book is set in college. I completely agree that every college has its own share of jocks and nerds. But, Hello? This is college we’re talking about! As far as I’m aware of, there none of these high school labels – Goth, or nerd, or geek or jock, or whatever. Everyone’s in here to get a degree. Discover themselves.. Not create labels, or behave like a bunch of immature high school kids.

In simple terms, this book would’ve worked out better if it were YA, or high school romance.

tumblr_ng03orydvf1ruqqm0o1_500

Roman, or Romeo is a popular jock and a total player. Rimmel is a nerd.. wait, a #nerd. This is the typical cliché romance novel where a jock/player/star-quarterback is dared to sleep with a nerd/unpopular-girl and ends up falling in love with her. Boo hoo.

You know what, I’ve read all this before!

Quote4.png

Aww, Romeo. Why don’t you wear a pair of glasses, slink in a corner and read a comic book? Bullshit.

Then, there’s this #BuzzBoss dude who keeps giving these irritating “status updates” about the college. In my University’s app, we get actual NEWS. But all #BuzzBoss wants to do is follow Romeo around and publicize his private life. Basically, he’s like the paparazzi. Totally the status updates we care about or NEED.

Quote5

What’s that thing when she stresses on the “hashtag nerd”. She sure seemed to proud to be called one in the beginning.

Next, I thought that little fight they had towards the end was absolute..

tumblr_mdbuaqexwv1r9wv9ro1_500

It was like the part was included for the sake of one. I mean, every romance novel has this part where the love-birds have a falling out and get back together again. This one was included exactly for that reason.

It’s really sad that this book disappointed me in all aspects. I saw all these five star ratings.. And well, hoped I would like it too. Guess it didn’t work out well for me.

To sum it all up, it was a combination of all possible romance novel clichés.

One thought on “Review: #Nerd by Cambria Hebert

Leave a Reply

