Review: Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

goz

Synopsis

I had no idea GirlOnline would take off the way it has – I can’t believe I now have 5432 followers, thanks so much! – and the thought of opening up to you all about this is terrifying, but here goes…

Penny has a secret.

Under the alias GirlOnline, she blogs about school dramas, boys, her mad, whirlwind family – and the panic attacks she’s suffered from lately. When things go from bad to worse, her family whisks her away to New York, where she meets the gorgeous, guitar-strumming Noah. Suddenly Penny is falling in love – and capturing every moment of it on her blog.

But Noah has a secret too. One that threatens to ruin Penny’s cover – and her closest friendship – forever.

Review

Don’t get me wrong, but I’m neutral – I don’t hate Zoella, but I don’t love her either. In fact, my own sister is a huge fan of her and she rants about her to the point when it gets annoying. I picked this one up despite all those one-star reviews I read on Goodreads. In fact, I’m 100% sure I started reading this one with an open mind. I’m really sorry to say that I hated it.

For me, when it comes to a writer, I don’t care about their ideas, or plot. Nope, not a bit. I’m really particular about the writing. A good author should be able to WRITE, to EXPRESS their ideas in a way that would impress people however normal their plot is.

I picked up Girl Online for the simple fact that it was breaking sales records (and my sister, of course).  No offense to all you YouTubers out there, but someone who became famous for vlogging is not someone I would automatically equate with having the ability to write a novel. I mean, every freaking person is writing a novel nowadays. Writing is a passion. A penance. Not a trend! God, it angers me every single time I think about it.

Penny is the usual, cliché awkward teenager. She’s clumsy and spends most of her time whining about her looks… Sounds like someone we know? Yes, Ladies and Gentlemen, it’s Bella Swan. Sorry, Zoella. You gotta try harder next time.

To  broadcast her boring life, Penny starts a blog called GirlOnline where she can express herself anonymously. All is well until she starts blogging about this man she met and romanced while visiting New York City with her family. Turns out that man is famous and has a girlfriend.

It sounds cliché, but hey, it’s a cute story, right?

rs_500x270-150612135621-f8ba92e0-d6c6-0130-7747-5ee43895e257

While the clichés and overused storyline could have been forgiven, the horrible writing and terrible characters cannot.

Penny is like… super dumb.

QGO1

That’s photos in general, right?

Also, this book was ghostwritten. Which means Zoella didn’t write it. Siobhan Curham wrote the book.. I feel sorry for her. She has tried to write the book from a teenager’s POV. But it just ended up with weird sentences like “He was a walking selfie”. My Gawd.

ghostwriter_keith

This blog Penny starts as an anonymous rando goes from zero to 10,715 followers in less than a year. And all she writes about is her boring, bullcrap life. So, not believable.

Then, the insta-love. God, this one is huge no-no for me.

QGO2

And the climax…

QGO3

laugh-out-loud-gif-15

200_s

If you want to read something DIFFERENT or have less time for books, do not waste it on this one. Absolute. Crap.

border

What do you people feel about random people writing books? Does it irritate you (like me) or do you look forward to it?

love_shameeka

6 thoughts on “Review: Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

  1. I enjoyed your review and i can relate by what you mean that a good author must know how to write. I just read a few sentences that you posted on your blog and i am already cringing. Anyhoots! your review was a fun read 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked the general idea and a bit of cliché romance can be nice sometimes, but I hated the writing style and just how unrealistic it was. If there was a reason for a sudden increase in the number of people reading Girl Online, or if Penny’s blog had become popular more slowly, it would have been a lot more believable. I also felt that some of the blog posts gave away the plot a little – like when Penny described Elliot as a ‘teenage boy with parental problems’, and everyone could instantly guess his subplot and background. And I see what you mean about adults trying to write like teenagers – that’s a huge problem in a book I’m reading at the moment, and everything sounds so disconnected and weird because they obviously don’t know how a teenager would think or act.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

