Book Travelling Thursday: Favourite Debut Novel

Hello, everyone! Book Travelling Thursday is a weekly meme where you select a book based on that week’s theme, and showcase the different covers of that book. I think its a great way to get to know fellow members in the bookish community and talk books!

To learn more about BTT, visit the BTT Goodreads Group.

168709

BTT2

gremlin

My book of the week is The Gremlins by Roald Dahl. Though this is technically not his debut novel (A Piece of Cake, published in 1942, being his first), this was his first children’s novel, published in 1943.

Cover

dh10665lg

Oh, God, Dahl.. How much I love you and your novels. I have talked about how I grew up reading Dahl’s novels.

Back in fourth grade, I was really terrible at English. In fact, I hated it. We were supposed to do this Book Review on a book by an author whose name I didn’t catch when my teacher first announced it. I later made a fool out of myself when I asked her about it in front of my class. People wouldn’t stop teasing me for days. Come on, guys.. What’s so wrong about that?! Anyways, I decided to take that review seriously and prove something to myself and my class. I submitted by review on The Gremlins, and got an A+. That’s when I realized what I loved doing.

Synopsis

Published in 1943 and long unavailable, this landmark book is from the author of such beloved tales as “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”, “James and the Giant Peach” and “Matilda.” Digitally restored, this remarkable presentation of Roald Dahl’s classic story is lavishly illustrated by the artists of the Walt Disney Studios.

The story of the The Gremlins concerns the mischievous mythical creatures of the title, often invoked by Royal Air Force pilots as an explanation of mechanical troubles and mishaps. In Dahl’s book, the gremlins’ motivation for sabotaging British aircraft is revenge of the destruction of their forest home, which was razed to make way for an aircraft factory. The principal character in the book, Gus, has his Hawker Hurricane fighter destroyed over the English Channel by a gremlin, but is able to convince the gremlins as they parachute into the water that they should join forces against a common enemy, Hitler and the Nazis, rather than fight each other. Source: Wikipedia

With full-page color illustrations and with several black and white illustrations by the Disney artists throughout.

This was Roald Dahl’s first book and preceded the British publication by several months. The story was optioned by Disney and was intended to be made into an animated film, but it was never produced. A note on the copyright page states: “The RAF Benevolent Fund will receive the author’s share of the proceeds from the sale of this book.” Dahl’s next children’s book, James and the Giant Peach, published eighteen years later.

border

There are no other covers for The Gremlins, since it had been published that early. But here are some cute illustrations of The Gremlins, which I love.

27737062338404-03

Gremlin_Gusreturn-of-the-gremlins-2

a07581ac451abc3e1016f3d87a3350b9

Le sigh. They are so cute.

What is your favourite debut novel?

love_shameeka

 

4 thoughts on “Book Travelling Thursday: Favourite Debut Novel

  1. I have not read this Roald Dahl book (and I’ve read quite a few) but I have in fact been looking into buying a complete collection and reading them all as I have already read two this year and they were so fun to read!

    I love these cute little illustrations you added and I also really love the original cover. I don’t know what it is about his books but they are just so adorable!

    Check my BTT – link on my twitter 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

