Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

9_header

25111004

syn_9

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

rev_9

I have mentioned several times before about how much I’m beginning to resent Colleen Hoover’s novels as they release – her plots simply don’t appeal to me anymore.

I’m not going start ranting about Ugly Love or any of the other novels now. I’m simply going to start with my thoughts about November 9.

November 9 is about Fallon, a burn victim and an ex-actress struggling to balance between her passion for acting and the industry’s expectations towards the physical aspects of an actress. She meets up with her Dad in a restaurant to discuss her plans of trying for “The Broadway” in New York, where she learns that her Dad is not on the same page as her. Her Dad puts forth the fact that she cannot become an actress due to her destroyed looks in a very polished manner, which hurts Fallon and ends up in an argument. When her Dad accuses her burn scars as the reason for not being able to get into a relationship, our Hero, Ben (a writer) steps in as her fake boyfriend. He baffles Fallon by defending her from her father. I have to say, I loved this part except for the fact that Fallon has never seen him before. I mean, an UNKNOWN dude defending you from your FATHER?! I found that part ridiculous. At least they didn’t bump into each other or trip over each other or shit.

Fallon’s mother had advised her not fall in love before creating an identity for herself. I’m guessing that’s what she said, which Fallon interpreted as “Do not fall in love until you’re 23”. Whatever. So, when Ben offers to take Fallon out on a “date”, her pathetic excuse of an excuse is the “advice” her mother gave. After this, they decide to meet up at the same restaurant every November 9 (since that’s the day they meet) and Fallon leaves to New York.

The book skips a year forward to the next November 9, hence not focusing on their lives during this period – one more thing that really irritated me. We don’t get to know about their character, how they lead their lives separately and skip straight to the part where they meet.

There were lots of twists and most of them caught me off guard. The book would’ve probably been better for me if not for Colleen Hoover trying a tad bit too hard to not make it cliché, which only ended up making the book a giant, cliché mess. The concept was good but the lack of proper story-building and character-building completely ruined the book for me. I don’t think I can say much without dropping a major amount of spoilers.

Putting my experience into simple words:

The book:

  • was too cliché for me.
  • had too many coincidences for my liking.
  • had TOO MUCH DRAMA.

tumblr_njvpd5ssgg1stfiuco1_250

Conclusion?

b3835151045bc0dc5a61fc67143c21e67a6f917025a96b1e8e1f4f2b6778fc3f

Image result for 9 gifRelated imageImage result for 9 gifRelated imageImage result for 9 gifRelated imageImage result for 9 gifRelated imageImage result for 9 gif

Did you like this book? What are your thoughts?

shameeka

2 thoughts on “Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

  1. I liked it but didn’t love it and it isn’t my favorite CoHo book.. I agree that it’s hard to really connect and feel the flow of a story when all you get is time jumps.. I think she had this utterly romantic idea in her head and wanted to defy writing laws with this one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

